不可否认,塑料在制造业和包装业中发挥着重要作用。它的多功能性使它能够被塑造成不同的形状和尺寸,还有许多其他有用的特性。 

然而,随着世界继续对全球的 塑料的环境影响许多公司正在修改他们的业务,以实施可持续发展的做法。在Petainer,我们提供 创新的包装解决方案 这些都是专门为适应循环经济而设计的。我们的产品被设计为可回收利用,以减少泄漏到环境中的废物。 

PET塑料是一种可持续的包装选择,也是用于饮料瓶的主要塑料类型,因为它对有机材料和水具有出色的耐化学性,而且强度与重量比高。在此,我们将探讨究竟什么是 PET瓶 是,评估它们的好处,并将它们与其他塑料类型进行比较。

什么是PET?

PET,聚对苯二甲酸乙二醇酯(又称PETE)是一种强硬的合成材料,属于热塑性塑料系列,这意味着它可以被加热、融化和冷却成许多形状和尺寸。它由油和石化产品组合而成,在制造业中很受欢迎,用于生产瓶子和罐子。事实上,几乎所有的塑料瓶都是由PET制成的。它适用于一系列饮料,包括碳酸饮料、静止饮料和可稀释饮料、果汁和瓶装水。 

这种材料提供了对二氧化碳和光线的保护屏障,排斥微生物,并经过欧盟/NSF/FDA的测试和批准。PET很轻,可以有一个非常清晰的外观,一旦定型,看起来与玻璃相似。它坚固、无反应、防碎,这使该材料能够达到食品、饮料和个人护理产品的高安全标准。它非常坚固,可以进行HPP--高压处理--一种无热的巴氏灭菌形式。

PET比其他类型的塑料更环保吗?

PET是塑料瓶(和其他用途)的首选,因为它是100%可回收和高度可持续的。它可以一次又一次地被回收到新产品中,减少资源的浪费。这与其他类型的塑料不同,如聚氯乙烯(PVC)、低密度聚乙烯(LDPE)、聚丙烯(PP)、聚苯乙烯(PS),它们分别用于保鲜膜、一次性塑料袋、食品容器和一次性杯子。 

PET的碳足迹也很低,因为它在制造过程中使用的能源较少,这有助于供应商减少总体能源消耗。在Petainer,我们在使用可再生能源的工厂中生产PET瓶,从而提高了产品的质量。 可持续性 我们可以通过网站上的 "碳计算器 "了解您的碳排放情况。我们可以通过我们网站上的碳计算器让你了解你的碳影响。

由于它很轻,这使企业能够运输大量的PET瓶,并进一步减少运输带来的碳排放。这也使它成为企业的经济选择。 

PET的生命周期

PET产品的生命周期可以很长,如果消费者正确处置,产生的塑料垃圾很少。这种材料很容易回收,而且回收的PET是一种有价值的商品,具有封闭循环的潜力。大多数PET瓶上都有明确的标签,标明 #1树脂代码 这向消费者表明它是完全可回收的,即PET塑料。例如,一些塑料容器是多层的,有些人认为正确分类很费时间。

回收的内容

可以使用回收的PET来生产PET产品。Petainer的一升 可重复填充的PET瓶 例如,使用30%可回收材料制成,与可填充玻璃瓶相比,这也提供了81%的碳减排。我们的一些设计风格可以使用100%的回收成分来生产--从生产过程中消除原生塑料将有助于节省高达75%的碳排放。

PET比其他类型的塑料更安全吗?

如前所述,PET是防碎的,如果破碎或损坏,不会造成伤害--它被称为 "安全 "塑料。PET不含 双酚A(BPA) 要么,一种在大量情况下可能有害的化学品。一些类型的塑料含有这种物质,据报道,它与人体的内分泌系统相互作用,可能会对健康造成负面影响。这就是为什么如此多的消费者从聚碳酸酯转而使用 PET饮水机而前一种类型的塑料往往含有双酚A。

总体而言,PET是一种安全、卫生的包装解决方案,得到了官方卫生和安全委员会的批准。它的成分意味着它不会与任何食物或与材料接触的液体发生反应,使PET瓶没有风险,可以安全饮用。

谢谢你的阅读。要了解更多有关塑料和可持续发展的事情,请查看我们的 洞察力 今天的部分。

There’s no denying that plastic plays a significant role in the manufacturing and packaging industry. Its versatility enables it to be moulded into different shapes and sizes, alongside many other useful properties. 

However, as the world continues to take action against the global environmental impact of plastic, many companies are revising their operations to implement sustainable practices. At Petainer, we provide innovative packaging solutions that are specifically designed to fit into the circular economy. Our products are designed to be recycled, to reduce waste leaking into the environment. 

PET plastic is a sustainable packaging option and the leading type of plastic used for beverage bottles, owing to its excellent chemical resistance to organic materials and water, and high strength to weight ratio. Here we’re going to explore what exactly PET bottles are, assess their benefits, and compare them to other plastic types.

What is PET?

PET, polyethylene terephthalate (also known as PETE) is a strong, stiff synthetic material that is part of the thermoplastics family, meaning it can be heated, melted and cooled into many shapes and sizes. Made from a combination of oils and petrochemicals, it’s popular within the manufacturing sector for producing bottles and jars. In fact, almost every plastic bottle is made from PET. It’s suitable for a range of beverages including carbonated, still and dilutable drinks, fruit juices, and bottled water. 

The material offers a protective barrier against CO2 and light, repels microorganisms and is EU/NSF/FDA tested and approved. PET is lightweight, can have a very clear appearance and looks similar to glass once set. It’s strong, non-reactive and shatterproof, which allows the material to achieve high safety standards for food, drink and personal care products. It is so strong, that it can undergo HPP – high pressure processing – a heat free form of pasteurisation.

Is PET more eco-friendly than other types of plastic?

PET is the preferred for plastic bottles (and other uses) as it’s 100% recyclable and highly sustainable. It can be recovered and recycled into new products again and again, reducing the amount of resources wasted. This is unlike other types of plastic, such as polyvinyl chloride (PVC), low-density polyethylene (LDPE), polypropylene (PP), polystyrene (PS), which are used for things cling film, single-use plastic bags, food containers and disposable cups respectively. 

PET also has a low carbon footprint as it uses less energy during manufacturing, which helps suppliers to reduce overall energy consumption. Here at Petainer, we produce PET bottles in factories that are powered by renewable energy, boosting the product’s sustainability credentials and allowing us to cut down on carbon emissions. We can give you an idea of your carbon impact with our Carbon Calculator on our website.

As it’s lightweight, this enables companies to transport large quantities of PET bottles and further reduce carbon emissions that come from transportation. This also makes it an economical choice for businesses. 

Life cycle of PET

The life cycle of a PET product can be very long, with low plastic waste created if consumers correctly dispose of it. The material is easy to recycle, and recycled PET is a valuable commodity with its closed loop potential. Most PET bottles are clearly labelled with the #1 resin code that indicates to consumers it’s fully recyclable, PET plastic. Some plastic containers are multi-layered, for instance, which some find time-consuming to sort properly.

Recycled content

PET products can be produced using recycled PET. Petainer’s one litre refillable PET bottles are made with 30% recycled content, for example, which also offers an 81% reduction in carbon compared to refillable glass bottles. A few of our design styles can be produced using 100% recycled content — eliminating virgin plastic from the production process will help save up to 75% in carbon emissions.

Is PET safer than other types of plastic?

As previously mentioned, PET is shatterproof and will not cause harm if broken or damaged — it’s known as the ‘safe’ plastic. PET doesn’t contain Bisphenol-A (BPA) either, a chemical that can be harmful in large quantities. Some types of plastic contain this, and it’s been reported to interact with the body’s endocrine system, potentially causing negative health effects. This is the main reason why so many consumers are switching from polycarbonate to PET water coolers, with the former type of plastic often containing BPA.

Overall, PET is a safe, hygienic packaging solution, approved by official health and safety boards. Its composition means it doesn’t react with any food or liquids that come in contact with the material, making PET bottles risk-free and safe to drink from.

Thanks for reading. To learn more about all things plastic and sustainable, check out our Insights section today.